Happy Holidays

The December holidays of 2016 has got to be some of the most dramatic days I have ever seen in well, ever (considering that I’m still pretty young).

Celebrities died, and that’s always sad, especially at this time of year. People focus more on spending money and buying extravagant presents that all the problems that have been advocated seem to dissipate in all the Christmas chaos, among other unforgotten chaos. Our sensitive generation decides that just because someone celebrates a holiday doesn’t mean that others also celebrate that holiday, and therefore shouldn’t wish them based on said holiday. Really? Is it really that serious? No. No, it’s not.

If I wish someone a Merry Christmas (not Xmas, but we’ll get into that later) it’s not because I sudden;t think you should adopt Christianity and come to church with me on Sunday. I genuinely just want you to have a good day, not unlike any other day, except the fact that it’s a holiday. But right, my words are meant to magically convert your beliefs into my own. If people were really that persuasive, our world would be much worse, trust me.

I’m not even sure I want to get into Xmas at this point, so I’ll make it brief. What is the point of Christmas without Christ? Imagine if all of your friends planned a surprise birthday party for you but then don’t invite you. The focus of the entire celebration shifts in that very moment, and that’s what I saw this year.

Now don’t get me wrong, there are many truly amazing things that happened this holiday season, but for some reason, our society loves to place our attention in all the worst parts of the world. What hope are we to have for the new year, if we can’t even see the good that’s happened in the current year?

Merry Christmas, and Happy Holidays everyone, I truly hope we can all see past the celebrity deaths, and all other Christmass Chaos we choose (or are forced) to involve ourselves in this holiday season and hope for a brighter 2017.

Join the Conversation

