Getting Real

I haven’t been active in a while, and that’s mainly because I’ve been preparing for the next big step in my life. A step I don’t necessarily want to take, but one that’s very much necessary. To put it simply, I’ve been prepping for Medical School and all the studying and stress that comes with it.

By no means am I in Med School yet, I’ve only just started the journey. I plan to take the MCAT soon, and in that, I realized just how much writing helped me, and I don’t want to give it up simply because time is scarce.

I often wonder what my life would be like if I were able to truly live my own life, make my own choices, and spend time on what I want to spend time on. Apparently life in a cage is not that simple. Medical school is my only way of escape, and trust me, I will do whatever it takes to hold onto that freedom. I just don’t want to lose myself in the process. So as writing is the escape for my mind, Medical school is the escape for my body.

As my impending future seems to draw nearer and nearer, the reality of it all is finally setting in. The prospect of medical school is getting real, and at 20, I can’t say I’m all too happy about signing my life away to hundreds of thousands of dollars in student loan debt. Is this how much freedom costs?

Join the Conversation

