Transient Fireworks

So I’m sure we’ve all had our fair share of crushes. The kind where you stare at them from afar hoping someday they would stare back. Watching time fly as you continue making excuses why you can’t possibly talk to him/her, how s/he couldn’t possibly know you exist.

Or maybe yours was a bit different. Maybe you’re friends, maybe you happen to enjoy each others company but it was never anything more than that.

A simple song reminds me of all the times I’ve stolen glance from the distance without doing much about it (for several reasons). Then I think, having a crush is like watching fireworks. The anticipation, the explosion, the excitement explodes all at once… then it fades.

There’s a lasting feeling, sure, but sometimes we wonder why we ever liked that person to begin with, or sometimes it doesn’t completely fade and instead leaves a lasting impression of memories and emotion. In the end it’s called a crush for a reason – it’s transient, ever changing, never lasting. Which, I think, makes it all the more enjoyable.

To remind me of my past crushes, a certain song comes to mind, Supercell – Utakata Hanabi (Transient Fireworks). I first heard this song as an ending to some episodes of “Naruto”, an anime I watched with my young cousins. After reading the translations, I realized how closed minded I was for not wanting to listen to something simply because I couldn’t understand it. I hope more people will be willing to open their minds to what they can’t understand and see the beauty in them – but that’s a talk for another time haha!

Translations can be found all over the place so instead, I will add a story version requested a long time ago.

Join the Conversation

